Rainbow PUSH Coalition Bridging Media/Tech Diversity Gap At Annual Conference

Rainbow PUSH Coalition Bridging Media/Tech Diversity Gap At Annual Conference


The Rainbow PUSH Coalition will host its 8th Annual Media and Telecom Symposium on December 15-16, 2015 at the Capital Hilton, DC. The Legacy Affair Gala will take place on December 15, 2015 at the Capital Hilton from 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm. Day Two of the Symposium on December 16, 2015 will take place at the Capital Hilton, 1001 16th Street, NW, Washington, DC from 8:15 am – 5:30 pm, with a holiday reception to follow.

The theme of this year’s conference is “The Future of Media and Technology: Growth, Convergence and Disruption.” Panels will focus on the 2016 presidential election, new media and civil rights concerns, media ownership and representation, the digital divide and how the new digital economy will benefit consumers, particularly those from communities of color. At the December 16th Symposium, keynotes will be given by The Honorable G.K. Butterfield, U.S. Congressman – 1st District – North Carolina and Chairman of the Congressional Black Caucus; The Honorable Catherine Pugh, Maryland State Senator and President, National Caucus of Black State Legislators; The Honorable Mignon Clyburn, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission; Meredith Attwell Baker, President and CEO, CTIA-The Wireless Association; and Keith Clinkscales, President and CEO, Revolt TV.

Rainbow PUSH Coalition will honor the following 12 Most Influential and Aspiring Leaders on December 15:

 The Honorable Barbara Lee, U.S. Congresswoman – 13th District – CA

 The Honorable Elijah Cummings, U.S. Congressman – 7th District – MD

 John Burns, Associate, Krooth and Altman and Co-Founder, ICON to ICAN Charitable Organization

 Marco Clark, Founder/Chief Executive Officer, Richard Wright Public Charter School for Journalism and Media Arts

 Marie Sylla-Dixon, Senior Director and Chief Counsel of Government Affairs, T-Mobile

 Donna Epps, Senior Vice President, Public Policy, Verizon

 Heather Foster, Director of Strategic Partnerships, My Brother’s Keeper Alliance

 Endura Govans, Founder, International Business Kids

 Chanelle Hardy, Chief of Staff, Office of Mignon Clyburn

 Kimberly Marcus, Director, Supplier Diversity, AARP

 Richard Smallwood, International Gospel Recording Artist

 Antonio Williams, Senior Director, Government Affairs, Comcast/NBCU

Musical guests for the December 15 Gala are: Maurette Brown Clark, gospel recording artist and Angie Stone, R&B artists. Two performers from Motown the Musical will also join in the celebration.

The event is free and open to the public. Registration will close on Monday, December 14, 2015. For more information, please visit http://rpctelecom2015.eventbrite.com.