12 Black Lawmakers to Hold Events on Voter Registration Day

12 Black Lawmakers to Hold Events on Voter Registration Day


Tomorrow, twelve members of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) will host a series of coordinated events across the country to ensure their communities are prepared to vote on Election Day.

Community leaders, local and state elected officials, will join the CBC in their districts as a part of the “For the People” Voter Protection initiative that brings attention to block the vote efforts in the form of new restrictive ID laws.  Rev. Al Sharpton will be joining Assistant Leader Jim Clyburn (D-SC) at Clyburn’s voter protection event in South Carolina tomorrow.

At least 34 states have introduced laws that would require voters to show photo identification in order to vote and at least 12 states have introduced laws that would require proof of citizenship such as a birth certificate, to register to vote or to vote. The states that have already cut back on voting rights provide 171 electoral votes in 2012 – 63 percent of the 270 needed to win the presidency.

Tomorrow the following CBC Members are scheduled to host voter protection events in their districts:

CBC Chairman Emanuel Cleaver, II (MO – 05)
Grand Hall of Union Station
30 W. Pershing Road
Kansas City, MO 64108
Time: 10 – 11am CST

Congressmen John Lewis (GA – 05), David Scott (GA -13), and Hank Johnson (GA – 04)
Georgia State Capitol – Washington Street Side
206 Washington Street SW
Atlanta, GA 30334
Time: 11am  – 1pm ET

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX – 30)
Dallas County High Schools except the I.S.D.’s of Highland Park and Mesquite
Dallas County, Texas
Time: 10am – 2pm

Congresswoman Barbara Lee (CA – 09)
Alameda County Registrar of Voters
12th and Oak Street
Oakland, CA 34612
Time: 11 – 1pm PT

Congressman James Clyburn (SC – 06) with Special Guest, Rev. Al Sharpton
Charles R. Drew Wellness Center
2101 Walker Solomon Way
Columbia, SC 29201
Time: 10 – 11:30am ET

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (TX – 18)
Palm Center Courtroom Annex
5300 Griggs Road, 2nd Floor
Houston, TX 77021

Congresswoman Marcia Fudge (OH – 11)
Cuyahoga Board of Elections
2925 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44115
Time: 11 – 1pm CST
Contact: Belinda Prinz, (216) 630-0072

Congressman Alcee Hastings (FL – 23)
Office of Congressman Alcee Hastings
2701 W. Oakland Park Blvd, Suite 200
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311
Time: 10:30am – 12:30pm ET

Congressman Danny Davis (IL – 07)
Wallace’s Catfish Corner
2800 West Madison Street
Chicago, IL 60612
Time: 6pm ET

Congressman Sanford Bishop (GA- 02)
Location TBD
Columbus, GA