President Obama Nominates U.S. Marshals For Five States and D.C.

President Obama Nominates U.S. Marshals For Five States and D.C.


Shortly before the Thanksgiving holiday, President Obama announced seven nominations for U.S. Marshals. The nominees will serve in various federal judicial districts across the country, if confirmed.

U.S. Marshals serve as the enforcement arm of the federal courts. There is one U.S. Marshal appointed to each of the 94 federal judicial districts. They, along with over 3,340 Deputy U.S. Marshals and Criminal Investigators, apprehend federal fugitives, operate the Witness Security Program, seize illegal possessions used by federal criminals, protect the federal judiciary, and transport federal prisoners.

In a statement from the White House, the following candidates were announced as nominees, along with their respective districts:

  • Charles Andrews (Southern District of Alabama)
  • Darrell Bell (District of Montana)
  • William Berger, Sr. (Middle District of Florida)
  • Russel Burger (District of Oregon)
  • Joseph Moore (District of Wyoming)
  • Edwin Sloane (District of Columbia)
  • Esteban Soto III (Superior Court for the District of Columbia)

“These dedicated public servants have shown an unwavering commitment to public service,” President Obama said in a written statement. “I am pleased to nominate them to serve and protect the American people as U.S. Marshals,” he added.

The seven nominees bring a range of federal, state, and local law enforcement experience to the U.S. Marshals Service. Past roles have included positions with the U.S. Capitol Service, INTERPOL, Office of Homeland Security, Highway Patrol Division, Sheriff’s offices, and work as a college professor.

Each nominee will formally assume their role upon confirmation by the U.S. Senate.